Tomato time

 

Tomatoes at the Trenton Farmers Market

Yeah. Summer in Jersey, what are you going to eat?

Tomatoes.

And you don’t have to go to a whole lot of fuss with them. 

Slice, season, savor.

This past Saturday was a hectic day.

I had some errands in the morning.  Then we ran out to Mainland, PA for lunch with Ann’s family to celebrate my mother-in-law’s birthday.  Back home, take care of the dogs and then I was off to the Thunder game.

By time I got home, I was tired but a little hungry and it was heading towards 10 pm.

What to do?

Then I remembered something I’d heard on the radio earlier in the day.  During a segment on NPR’s weekend edition chef/restaurateur Scott Conant said:

A good tomato raw, with a little bit of salt and a touch of olive oil, is just one of the world’s most simple pleasures…

(to hear Conant’s interview, click here; to read a transcript, click here.)

So that’s what I did.  Sliced a perfectly ripe local tomato, sprinkled on a little sea salt and drizzled on the olive oil. 

Season's best

Light, refreshing and satisfying.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

