Last chance burger blast

The weather has been so nice the past few days the urge to fire up the grill was hard to resist.  Maybe one last set of burgers would be in order.  To the wife’s chagrin, I vowed I would grind my own beef to make the patties from.

When I got to the store, there wasn’t a single piece of brisket in the case.  As an alternative, I picked up a couple of packages of beef short ribs.  Back at home, I took trimmed the silverskin and then cut the meat from the bone.  Not a cheap way to get ground meat…about 2/3 of the total weight of what I bought did not get used in the burgers.

NOTE: A frugal and thinking person would have used the bones to make a beef stock.  I’ll think of that NEXT TIME before I toss them out!

I took the trimmed meat and cut it into small cubes and put it in the freezer for awhile to firm up before grinding.  After about 45 minutes, I removed the meat and seasoned it with some kosher salt and fresh ground black pepper.  Into the meat grinder attachment of my kitchen center and, bang!, fresh ground meat, seasoned and ready to form into patties.

A quick grilling and dressing as per our usual preferences. 

Result…again a tasty burger with really nice texture.  However, Ann and I decided we preferred the all brisket burger to the short rib version.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

