Baked oysters and andouille sausage

We made an oyster run to Bivalve, NJ last week and came back with three boxes (100 oysters in each) to divvy up among friends and family.

Friday, I was down to the end of the haul…maybe two, two and half dozen left.  I needed to use the shellfish up and I didn’t have a lot of time or energy to put into a fancy preparation.  Drawing upon hours of viewing the “dump and stir” shows on the Food Network, I hit upon the following for a nice little starter.

I took some generic, grocery store “andouille” style sausage and sliced on the angle about ¼ inch thick.  I laid the slices in a layer on the bottom of an individual sized casserole dish. 

Over this, I spread a layer of shucked oysters.

The oysters were covered with a generous layer of seasoned bread crumbs and dotted with butter.

Topping the casserole with a handful of grated mozzarella and provolone cheese, I put the cover on the dish and put it in a 375 degree oven for about 15 minutes (until the cheese had melted and was bubbly).

I removed the cover from the casserole,  set it back in the oven for about five minutes, just until the cheese started to brown and then pulled it out.

Done!

Making this with parmigiano reggiano cheese mixed into the bread crumbs instead of smothering the dish with the gloppy mozzarella/provolone mixture would be a refinement. 

 Either way, it’s a good way to use up those mollusks.

Tags: , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Baked oysters and andouille sausage”

  1. Mark Says:

    That was an inspired idea!

  2. Jim Carlucci Says:

    Thanks, Mark. It was pretty good. I’ve also done something similar with Italian sausage…which was kind of what gave me the notion.

  3. Estoy LIsto Says:

    This works. I browned the in a cast iron skillet first, eliminating some fat, then covered all with panko and parmegano regiano. Baked in the skillet @ 400. Turned out great.

Leave a Reply

